Back to School!

Well, soon it will be back to school for students of all ages.  It also means back to teaching for me – teaching enamelling that is!  The first of the fall classes will be the beginner class on September 21st.  Check out the Classes page for more dates and details.

Enamelling is a wonderful craft in that it is simple to learn but once you learn the basics you can use them to create incredibly intricate designs.  It all depends on your taste, skill and patience.  Personally I’m in love with colour, so my work is dedicated to simple, abstract, vividly hued designs.  But if you would like to make cloisonne with dozens of cells that takes months I can teach you that too!  Even after one class you’ll be all ready to work on your own, and you’ll make 3 finished pieces by the end of the day.

Don’t forget that enamelling has many more uses than just jewellery.  You can make bowls, art panels, light switch covers, house numbers and more!  Oodles of stuff!

The biggest advantage of taking a class with me is personal attention.  I take a maximum of 3 students and will do individual classes for the same price.  I find that keeping numbers low means I have the time to answer questions and really focus on what each individual student wants to learn.  I also take care of the set up and the clean up, so the class time is completely centered on learning.  And if you want to do more enamelling after your classes you can rent kiln time or I can tell you where to buy a kiln and set up your own studio.  It doesn’t take up a lot of space, so it’s fantastic for a home studio!

So hopefully some of you people out there will give enamelling a try!  I’m sure you’ll love it as much as I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

