Azorean Street Art

Wow, it’s been over two months since my last blog post.  I know I’m not a super-blogger but I guess that’s pushing it a bit.  Since my last post about Buenos Aires street art was so popular I thought I’d share some street art from the Azores, which is where I journeyed to in March.

The Archipelago of the Azores is a chain of islands in the Atlantic off the coast of Portugal.  The island in the Azores I was on is called Sao Miguel.  There isn’t an abundance of street art there, it’s a small island and it’s so darn gorgeous that between the beautiful landscape and the pretty buildings there aren’t a lot of surfaces screaming out for someone to paint on them.  However I did manage to find some very impressive pieces.  When I wasn’t searching for street art I was hiking around volcanoes, swimming in hot springs and eating food cooked underground by volcanic heat.

Here’s a few of the pieces of street art I saw.  I think my favourite is the weird fishing scene, it’s so big I had to take four pictures to fit it all in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

